Oulun Yliopiston sekä Arkkitehtiosaston säilyttävä keskustassa

mpyatok@pyatok.com

/ #12 michael pyatok, FAIA

15.10.2012 19:14

I am an American Architect who was a Fulbright Scholar to Finland in 1969-70. I researched the Finnish housing and urban design policies around the suburban growth of Helsinki. I have always been concerned about how suburbs can drain life from the centers of our cities and I wanted to see if the Finns had found a better way to deal with their suburban growth. While Finish policies were superior to what the US was experiencing at the time, and still is, even in Finalnd, the spread of suburban development was subtracting from the life of the older central city.

As much as Otaniemi was a lovely campus, I always regretted that it was located outside of Helsinki's center. As a native New Yorker, I chose to live in the heart of downtown Helsinki on Eerikinkatu, and visited the Otaniemi campus maybe 3 times in the entire year I was there. Not knowing all the issues around the Oulu case, I suspect that moving the school of architecture to the outer edge is a mistake, and will be one more example of important cultural life being drained from the heart of a city, and more people using more energy to move themselves about the region to work, learn and recreate.

I think it is a mistake everytime an important cultural instituion leaves an inner city for suburban locations. These types of moves are regretted for generations afterwards, and in the future people will look back in wonder-- how could such a foolish decision have been made in the first place?